top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Riddell

To Tova O'Brien

Rebates aren't really what I envision for the future of film funding. I think that we need something more like CNZ that is slightly devolved from the studio-esque vibe that the NZFC has.

Or NZ on Air too. I'm not confident that the Commission produces winners, so I think there should be more freedom for producers to take money from competitive funds or something along those lines.

I mean, in the UK, I think that it's all drawn from the Lottery fund and there isn't some centralised film commission that produces all those. I think that there's more of an ecosystem of production companies in the UK, US and Aussie. - I'm quite partial to co-operatives or community-based funding models. Though I'll admit that most of my ideas of financing my own projects is based on the way that people raised money for Broadway shows in the early-to-mid 20th century. So, much like the Raimis toured that early short of Evil Dead to raise funds for that from all those dentists and such, I could put together a backer's audition of Shipwrecked to fund my concept album. Ideally, we get dozens of investors and write favourable profit participation agreements like the ones that we used for Portrait of a Knight. Usually a compser gets around 4-5% of the royalties for a stage musical, so that's what I'm aiming for from my screen pieces.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fun fact

For the songwriters... from what I understand, Sullivan wrote tunes as tunes, and then invented large chunks of the accompaniment as he was rehearsing and orchestrating. That's very different to R&H,

To Jonathan Tunick

I saw the recent item regarding expanding A Little Night Music for a symphonic orchestra. I'm a fan of the chamber-like interplay of show scores, but that's definitely a score that could probably sust

Why are bathrooms contentious?

Hot take: fear of difference, but mostly that the alt-right has obsessed over that topic for many years, and all that toxcicity has become memefied. Plus a lot of Kiwis take their cues from the US an

bottom of page