top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Riddell

More checking of privilege

It really ticks me off when people say that I'm the good twin and that Stephen is the evil twin. For starters, that wasn't what people initally believed ... it wasn't until after the occupation of Parliament that public opinion shifted in that direction. Stephen's certainly spent a lot more time in hospital, but mostly I think it's a terribly reductive assumption, and frankly like a harmful stereotype for twins everywhere. - I'm just lucky that my silver tongue is so good that I'm mostly able to debate my way out of trouble. Plus one of the upsides of being avoidant is that I seldom crack, and I'm fairly good at containing my emotions. - In fact, all this twin bullshit is part of why I'm not returning to VUW. I feel like a lot of people couldn't tell us apart, and that's actually why they were all so fucking confused when Riddell Productions launched. I'm not keen to go back to a place that never really supported me, and my arguments are based on a general disdain for the ivory tower pretension that caused me to leave in the first place.

4 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Re: NZSM

They all hate that I'm poor and a total dick, but when it comes to the crunch my stuff is better. It's both accessible and sophisticated. True of the Parliamentarians too, but obviously I'm talking ab

two-finger bars

Jane was keen on this too: support fingers that sustain the main fingers. But the hammer-on multiphonics and the thumb strums were total instinct. The main areas where I differ from Jane are that

bottom of page