top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Riddell

why do I use past tense so extensively?

I dunno. From my perspective, prose mostly feels like it takes place in a reflective space. Memory pieces are probably my favourite style of story. I picked up the active tenses that journos use while working for RNZ, but that doesn't feel natural for Tina's story, or most of my recent stories.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Avocados in Trouble

I think that their poll numbers will remain fairly solid, despite all the upheaval. While I quibble, I do think there's only two parties in Parliament where the vision is more important than the indi

Instincts - a poem

How is it that my instincts for music can be so good, And my instincts for everything else be so bad! Well, you don't look a gift horse in the mouth, do ya? Amanda Riddell June 2024

movie buff thought

Well, as a film buff I thought I'd mention that my childhood was spent traveling, so I spent a lot of time riding on terrible buses and trains and planes while watching movies. And at nice hotels as

bottom of page