top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Riddell

The Mist - origin story

This wasn't written for the show. This is actually a song about my feelings for Chloe. What happened was that I was waiting for my friend to show up with my weed, and I was pining for Chloe. Then, for some reason, I started jamming out Forever Tuesday Morning by the Mockers with an online chord chart. I made a recording of that (I think it's the version on my album), but my fingers were still noodling, and suddenly I was doing the vamp that opens The Mist. I doodled some lines, riffing on my real life, and then I went to Central Park to meet him. Waiting around, the tune for the release came into my head, and then I had a smoke and did my usual walk around the park. By the time that I got home, the song was mostly finished and those early demos are mostly the same thing as the version that was finally aired on Facebook. - Btw, I'm continuing to look at old movies. I'm going to watch all the BLERTA films that they made for TV in the mid-1970's. Hi Brooke - that's the Ngā Taonga archivist who's digging up the material.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

two-finger bars

Jane was keen on this too: support fingers that sustain the main fingers. But the hammer-on multiphonics and the thumb strums were total instinct. The main areas where I differ from Jane are that

re: Pan

Well, if people see that first movement as like a redux of Lilburn, that's probably true. I played the 3rd trombone part of the Aotearoa Overture and Finlandia by Sibelius. He studied with Ralph Vau

The Calling

That's something I want Elisabeth Mandeno to sing. She's great, and has perfect pitch! I met her at Nelson back in the day..

bottom of page