top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Riddell

Review: Don McGlashan and the Others

Old St. Paul’s is chocker. 👁️ I’ve never seen it this full before, though Barbara Graham had a lunchtime gig here with a solid turnout back in 2017 (I think...). She sang The Enchanted Flute by Ravel. 🎹 - Very white-bread audience. 🎞️-- That’s what $55 tickets results in 🤣💵🏧 For me, this was a pricey gig, and I had to choose between going to this or the Rodger Fox Big Band. Fortunately, Rodger had Youtube vids of the new Hone Tuwhare pieces, so I watched those. 🤠 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUyplIYoKVM&ab_channel=LeoHuang - The opening act: Michael James Keane and Damien Cousins Very chill ... mumbling lines over ostinati -- Spacey stuff... 👁️ They have a sense of humour: the banter is making the crowd laugh. 🤣 Their album = Wandering Bull. https://michaeljameskeane.bandcamp.com/album/wandering-bull - Should have arrived earlier. I’m sitting in the back row, and the view is partially obstructed. - Had a smoke. Easy venue for that, I hope that it enhances my experience of the gig. ☘️ - It’s a long break between sets; feels like 30 minutes of gig then 30 minutes of break/interval…. I’m used to classical, where the intervals are 10-20 minutes. I guess that’s because of the soundcheck stuff... I love acoustic music more than amplified music, so I always think about the mics as a shiny bauble for lazy voices haha 👁️ - Ok. This is awesome. Don has stage presence to burn, and the sound is tight-as. I think the weed enhanced this gig for me. The lighting for John Bryce was particularly cool, with the splashes of red peppering the back of the church, and the lighting was generally solid. - Don’s voice is sounding tired on these last two songs: Dominion Road and The Heater! 🤯 The high notes in the encore (Pulled Along By Love) are amazing, though, and it's amazing that he still has it given how old he is (63). 👍 - The drumming really stood out to me, but the entire backing band were consummate pros. I bought the Lucky Stars album, but the new one is great too: https://don-mcglashan.bandcamp.com/album/bright-november-morning


Sent from my iPhone

84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Review: Q+A with James Shaw

That was a fascinating interview. Other than Jack's obsession with the National-Green coalition, it was mostly very enlightening. Erica's on my team for Fantasy Parliament because I'm aware that she'

No Man's Land (John Psathas)

This is a movie review; the film isn't on Letterboxd. 4/5 - a profound meditation on war. I've seen this while tripping on acid - that's where Air for a Winter Sunset came from. - BTS info: John

bottom of page